My Favourite Song

This is probably subject to change, but I want to write about my current favourite song, Sleep, by My Chemical Romance.

One reason I like it is that it’s loud. I think the fact that you can just listen to it and burst your eardrums makes it an amazing song in general, but also the fact that you can actually make out the drums and guitar, along with the vocalist screaming behind all the noise. It’s really not how non-metalheads see it, aka, just straight up l o u d, apparently.

Another reason is the lyrics. It’s hard to assign a meaning behind them, and it almost feels lonely even though there’s so much noise happening. I’ve been listening to this song for over a year and I still haven’t really found out what it means, though, I have tried to come up with what I think it could be about.

This song has strong grounds for a good music video, too. You listen to it and it has the right amount of “ominous”, along with quiet, loud, emotional, and almost “dark” themes. The weird noises along with how the guitar builds up at some parts is definitely something that ideas could really bring out in the song. I think the fact that it also has a bit of dialogue throughout, almost like a post-war feeling or someone suffering PTSD from war, also contributes to the fact it’d be great for a music video. I’m actually sad that the band didn’t make one for it.

This is definitely a song I could listen to anytime, anywhere. It’s not necessarily “sad”, nor happy, it doesn’t really affect my mood when I listen to it. It’s good background noise but also something good just to zone out to. I usually listen to it while playing games or doing something mindless.

I think a big con to this song is my favourite part of it. The ending which has all the build-up and the loudness really resonating in it. I always end up having to rewind the song to where the, quote-unquote, “end” of the song starts, and I usually skip the beginning parts of it, which is kind of a shame because it’s really what ties the song together. That’s the only part I don’t like about it, not everything in the song is my favourite, and I have to skip good parts to get to my favourite part.

I like this song mostly because I can associate the things I like to it. Like I said previously, not only is this song grounds for a good music video, but also almost a story, in a way. Maybe it’s just my creative mind getting ahead of me, but whenever I get into something new, and then I come back to the song, I always can imagine something cool for the franchise/game/person or whatever when I listen to it. It’s kind of fascinating to come up with so may stories for only one song.

If you want to listen to the song, click here.

One thought on “My Favourite Song

  1. i really like your blog, i also like my chemical romance, it’s nice to find people who like the same stuff as me, your blog was very detailed and had lots of detail, your blog was very good and keep up the long blogs! (good job! 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *