Weather and Feelings

Whenever there’s weather, like rain or snow, I always associate something to that kind of weather. I don’t know why, but there’s just that feeling. Like if you listen to a specific song during a thunderstorm, that memory is kind of encapsulated by that feeling you had when you were listening to it. It can’t only be weather, it can be a time, a lighting, where you were, etc. I have this with a lot of things I listen to, or a drawing, or some thing else of that nature.

Recently we’ve been getting a lot of snow and the river has risen a lot. We’ve had to postpone our Easter supper at least 1,000 times because our relatives that live farther away are scared of lowland flooding. It’s kind of hectic. It almost May and we’re getting snow. Mother nature must hate us or something.

Other than that and me getting mad at the fact we’ll being have snow in August already, I think my favourite kind of weather is when it’s raining around mid-day. The ambience and just the general knowledge that it’s actually raining is very comforting. It has to only be rain, though. If it turns into a thunderstorm, I won’t like it at all.

I’ve had a massive irrational fear  of thunderstorms for about 4 years now. I don’t really know how it started; I used to love thunderstorms when I was younger. My entire family would be inside and I would want to be outside looking at the lightning. Now I’m the one that cowers in the basement if I hear even one thunder boom.

I don’t really go outside a lot, so I don’t really have much interaction with the weather. I don’t do a lot of activities and I never see the sun. Everyone after summer has nice tans and I walk into the classroom like a vampire or ghost. It’s kind of funny. Whenever I compare “tans” with people, I become a sheet of loose-leaf. My mom will have this golden colour and I’m just white. That’s literally the only way to describe my complexion.

I’m planning on going outside more this summer, though, so hopefully I won’t be as pasty as the previous 5 years or some. My mom bought us kayaks and I’m kind of scared to try them out with her. I haven’t been swimming in a while, and I’m sure if I fell out a boat or had to go swimming at any time for safety, I’d just drown. It’s been so long, I kind of forget if I can swim or not. Last I remember, I could, but now I’m kind of like “Ehhh..” whenever someone asks me if I can swim.

Other than that, I’m sure I’ll be fine.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *