Drawing. Again.

My blog, my rules. I’m going to talk more about drawing.

So, recently, I’ve been doing quite a few character sheets, and thinking about more fantasy elements in drawing backgrounds, creatures, people, etc. I really like how some artists illustrate different aspects to their own or other fantasy worlds, and I’ve kind of been creating my own with a story, thinking of how buildings and societies work, how the characters differ, etc. It’s really fun, and since it’s all in your imagination, putting pen to paper, I find, is easier instead of copying a character design that already exists and messing it up or wanting it to be perfect.

I find it quite relaxing to come up with a story even though mine already involves a lot of despair and agony and you can kind of just sit back, calm down, and create everything at your own pace, especially if it’s just for fun, like mine currently is.

I’ve always loved creating characters, though I was never really happy with the result. I feel like this time, since I’m more relaxed and mature of all things, I can take more time to flesh out all the story, the characters, the creatures, the atmosphere, everything about a story that makes it really diverse and really gets you on the ramp for it, for more of the story to unfold, and for more characters or seeing how characters grow, change, and differ between each other.

The story I currently have in my head is there’s this one guy, a prince, who has very drastic features. I’m currently working on designs for his eight brothers (I wanted a lot of them because 1. I feel it ties in with some more “royal-based” stories I like. In all of them, the princes have a lot of brothers. and 2. Because I want there to be a drastic character cast and more diversity in this little world I’m creating), and having a lot of fun with names, personalities, visual aspects to them (balancing cool and mandatory with characters designs like what they wear for show, and what they wear for practicality), how they would all act to things that the main character does/says, how they speak, and a lot more featuring a rabbit hole into all of the above stated.

This little “project” of mine is probably the biggest, most fleshed out thing I’ve really done. I have a lot of drama in the storyline and some more tame parts that, if I ever get to make this thing happen, either as a comic or something, the reader can just relax and enjoy, even though there’s a lot of conflict and odd parts. I don’t have 100% of the storyline, just the main things I want to convey to the reader. I have a problem with how I make stories; I come up with the ending first, and I have no proper story as to how I get there. It’s like a person who can’t draw trying to make something very intricate and uniquely realistic. Those goals feel almost unattainable unless you work a lot to get where you want, and I feel like I need to realize that before I think up another random idea to work on a lot before I fail so I can end up with something I enjoyed making and like in the end.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *